Stop Abusive In-Laws

Chassidie Russell lost her daughter for three years. For three years, it did not matter that Chassidie Russell was a fit mother. For three years, all that mattered was that Chassidie’s in-laws had the money to fight this legal battle. (Watch Chassidie tell her story here.)

Loopholes in the Grandparent’s Access Statute allowed the judge to take Chassidie’s children away from her. The original intention of this law was to allow grandparents to sue for the right to visit their grandchildren. Now it is being used by in-laws to get much more than visitation. THSC is determined to remove these loopholes from the law. We have a bill in the Texas House of Representatives to do just that, but it is waiting to be heard on the House floor.

Our bill, Texas Parental Rights Restoration Act, would:

  • Force in-laws to back up their claims with evidence.
  • Remove the judge’s ability to use temporary orders in these cases because the children are not facing abuse. If the children were facing abuse, the in-laws would be filing under a different section of the law. If it was an emergency situation needing emergency orders, the in-laws should contact the police.
  • Protect parental rights by changing other aspects of the law. Read more about TPRRA.

The Calendar Controls Our Fate

Calendars Committee sets the schedule for when a bill will be heard on the House floor. Not only could this committee delay our bill, they could decide not to schedule it at all!

Call Today (and Tomorrow)

Because of your calls, the Texas Parental Rights Restoration Act has made it this far. Use your influence to help this bill go the rest of the way to becoming law . . . before May 7th. According to the House rules, May 7th is the last day for a bill to be scheduled to go to the house floor by the Calendars Committee.

The members of the Calendars Committee will be at the Capitol today and tomorrow, so please call both days. Ask the representatives below to place HB 2547 on the calendar for a vote.

Calendar Committee

Chair: Rep. Todd Hunter
(512) 463-0672
hunter.todd@house.state.tx.us

Vice Chair: Rep. Eddie Lucio III
(512) 463-0606
eddie.lucio_iii@house.state.tx.us

Members:
Rep. Roberto Alonzo
(512) 463-0408
roberto.alonzo@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Carol Alvarado
(512) 463-0732
carol.alvarado@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Dan Branch
(512) 463-0367
dan.branch@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Angie Chen Button
(512) 463-0486
angie.button@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Byron Cook
(512) 463-0730
byron.cook@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Myra Crownover
(512) 463-0582
myra.crownover@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Sarah Davis
(512) 463-0389
sarah.davis@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Craig Eiland
(512) 463-0502
craig.eiland@house.state.tx.us

Rep. John Frullo
(512) 463-0676
john.frullo@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Charlie Geren
(512) 463-0610
charlie.geren@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Helen Giddings
(512) 463-0953
helen.giddings@house.state.tx.us

Rep. John Kuempel
(512) 463-0602
john.kuempel@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Doug Miller
(512) 463-0325
doug.miller@house.state.tx.us

Tim Lambert – has written 164 posts on this site.

Comments are closed.

  • THSC Article Categories

    • Advocacy
    • Choosing a Curriculum
    • Curriculum Reviews
    • Group Leaders
    • Judicial
    • Legislative
    • Media Releases
    • THSC Rangers
  • Parental Rights in Texas

    THSC is actively working to protect your parental rights.

  • Sign up for THSC emails

    THSC provides the latest articles and information on many home schooling topics including success stories, tips and techniques, curriculum reviews, parental rights, local and state events, discounts and special offers, Texas legislative activities, and support groups. Sign up for one or all of the following categories:

    Home Schooling Weekly Email Newsletter

    Home Schooling Special Offers and Discounts

    Parental Rights Updates

    Legislative and Election Updates

    Support Group Leader Information

     

    Sign up now

  • Join THSC today for support and exclusive deals.

  • REVIEW Magazine

    Free Quarterly Publication

    February 2014 REVIEW Magazine